newest entry | older entries | contact me | diaryland

2005-06-27 - 11:02 a.m.

One of the burners on my stove mysteriously ended up broken this past January. By broken I mean that it will suddenly turn itself on or off without any warning unless the knob is in an exact certain position. I'm not sure how much energy needs to be exerted to turn the knobs - but I can tell you right now that it does not require the force of a sledge hammer. This was the same story with our garage door knob. Suddenly you'd go to turn it and pull the door open only to find yourself flying across the room backwards with the knob IN your hand and no longer attached to the door. My husband is left handed. Maybe our left- and right-handed turning techniques conflicted with each other causing these aforementioned knobs to cease in proper operation.

Anyway... our stove is a flat surface range top which entices everyone to toss everything and anything up onto it. All fine and good until a breeze blows past the knob from a nearby open window and the burner turns on. This is what put an end to a semi-new tub of margarine and nearly set the newspaper up into a raging inferno.

Finally after 6 months of living with this extreme fire hazard I built up the courage and strength to call SEARS this morning. I'd rather my house burned down than listen to that stupid phone system.

I dialed the numbers, shut my eyes, and clenched my teeth waiting for the whole stupid trip through their phone system with the dumb robot trying to take me by the hand and be my best friend. Holy crap and miracles of miracles - it merely welcomed me to Sears and requested that I hold for the next available operator!!!!!! So I did and I actually talked with a real person!!! Ding Dong the robot witch is dead! Horray for Dorothy! Maybe my condemning journal entry was printed out and passed out at a board meeting amongst the top execs at Sears.

"Hal, we've got to get rid of this robot. The people are in an uproar."

the past - the future

Comments? Questions? Suggestions? Complaints?
4 people have had something to say

my profile | recommend this diary to your mother