newest entry | older entries | contact me | diaryland

2005-04-10 - 10:15 a.m.

Now I am at the half way mark of my pregnancy. Twenty more weeks to go! Last Thursday I had an appointment with the ultrasound tech. I've been dying to know the gender since the day I found out I was pregnant. A wave of the wand and I watched on the fuzzy screen as my 11 inch, 15 ounce daughter squirmed around, yawned and gave us "thumbs up". A daughter! Sugar and spice and everything nice!

I know that MY parents would beg to have that cute little nursery rhyme altered to say something like, "... sometimes nice, but usually obstinate and moody and then finally mellows out as an adult." That's the thing about little girls. They're adorable to dress up in cute frilly pink lacey sun dresses, ribbons, bonnets and sparkles, then they start developing an attitude around age 3 and it just gets progressively worse. In addition to the pretty in pinkness comes the cliques, and the gossip, the back stabbing and a tied up phone line. I certainly gave my parents a grand tour of hell at various points of my life. And now it's come back to bite me in the ass... I just know it. I can't wait to be standing on the front porch at 3 am wondering why my child is missing from her bed and our car is no longer parked in front of our house. Strange coincidence? Or to get the call from the school principle to inform me of my daughter's four day suspension on account of having skipped 2 days of school that week while running rampant throughout downtown with her blue and pink haired friends.

I imagine only the worse, but perhaps the little tiny "thumbs up" gesture was just her way of reassuring me that she's not one of the "bad seeds". At least that's what I'll keep telling myself despite the long line of "trouble" in my children's family tree.


Gavin & Greta's Mother at age 15

the past - the future

Comments? Questions? Suggestions? Complaints?
4 people have had something to say

my profile | recommend this diary to your mother