newest entry | older entries | contact me | diaryland

2004-11-05 - 1:21 a.m.

At the realization that my coffee had lost all of its savory warmth, I put it in the microwave to zap some life back into it. After all of the essential buttons were pressed I proceeded to straighten a few things in the kitchen for 25 seconds. I rinsed the left over scrambled eggs off of the flower shaped plate as I listened to the typical crackling and popping sounds from within the microwave. As I placed the plate on the drain board, it suddenly dawned on me that it is not characteristic of coffee to crackle and spatter when being microwaved. I threw down the dish sponge and ran to the microwave just in time to inhale a puff of black smoke as a solitary flame seduced the melting edge of my insulated coffee cup. Flakes of burnt plastic whispered in the air before meeting the swift fury of my waving hand. I quickly extinguished the dancing flame with a single blow and stood there for a moment before chucking the ruined cup into the sink. On second thought, maybe someone needs to be sued, as my house could have burned to the ground! I could have been killed! All of those fire drills� and for what� So I plucked the ruined cup from the top of the dirty dish pile and examined it. �DO NOT MICROWAVE� clearly emblazoned on the bottom. Instead of a company being advertised on the side in fancy silver lettering, perhaps it should have made mention of the microwave incompatibility in that location. Then I would have seen it and never have stuck it in the microwave in the first place. Who sits around reading the bottoms of their cups? Obviously, not me. Do I have a case? Probably not.

The world might become a safer place if we would all just stop and take a moment to pay attention to these things. For instance, I may have a few more brain cells to accompany me on my journey through life had I heeded the legal disclaimer on the beer bong I bought on senior trip. �NOT INTENDED FOR USE WITH ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES�. At which point milk or Sunny D could have been introduced. But of course the very idea of using a beer bong with anything else BUT alcohol is absurd. This manufacturer, in an attempt to cover their ass against any and all lawsuits that may arise as a result of using their product for its INTENDED PURPOSE, induced heinous laughter from room 201 at the Mystic Sea Motor Inn.

On a much more serious note, I stumbled across THIS label while cleaning out the filing cabinet this afternoon:


I was suddenly relieved that my return address labels involve the word KENTUCKY in them. However, a long queue of questions materialized:

1.) Why would something be harmful in California and not Kentucky?
2.) If I traveled from Kentucky to California with this product, would it suddenly become harmful?
3.) What if it is harmful here in Kentucky too?
4.) Does this company only care about people in California?
5.) What the fuck does this label go to???

I can only speculate where this belongs, and in the meantime will be washing my hands after handling ANY cords around here lest I should become the mother to a six-eared child with an extra nose at some point down the road. That is IF I�m even still capable of reproducing!!!!

the past - the future

Comments? Questions? Suggestions? Complaints?
5 people have had something to say

my profile | recommend this diary to your mother